In celebration of the Bulls’ 17-7 win over FSU last Saturday, a new Billboard was put up by the USF marketing department on Monday on I-275 near downtown Tampa, reading:

“BIG 3” with the “3” crossed out and replaced by a “4.”

USF’s logo, which appears almost twice as big as the other logos on the Billboard, is placed next to the Seminoles’, Gators’ and Hurricanes’ logos.  Beneath the logos reads the words:

“Welcome to the Club Bulls Fans!”

Cute, right?

 USF coach Jim Leavitt doesn’t think so.

“I haven’t seen it, I had nothing to do with it, I don’t know how it got up and I don’t know who put it up,” Leavitt told the Tampa Tribune on Tuesday.  “I don’t want anyone to ever think that here I’m the guy having anything to do with that. That bothers me.  I don’t want people to sit there and think I think we’re all that – because we’re not. We’re a program that’s trying to get competitive. We’re a program trying to build.”

Leavitt has said numerous times that in order for USF to be even considered in the “Big 3” conversation, USF would have to beat Florida, FSU, or Miami. 

“We have not won national championships and we have not won conference championships,” Leavitt said. “What gives us the right to sit there all of a sudden like we’ve won all these championships and done all this stuff? That’s not me. That’s never been me.”

-Phil Neary

