USF junior guard Dominique Jones has opted to skip his senior season at USF and enter the NBA draft, the Tampa Tribune reported on Sunday, saying Jones informed coach Stan Heath about his decision on Saturday night.

“I feel like I’m in good position and I’ve been getting a lot of positive feedback from not only scouts, but other NBA people,’’ Jones told the Tribune. “It was one of those decisions I had to think about for a while, but I feel good about my decision.’’

Jones apparent departure leaves a huge void USF’s backcourt, as the Bulls also lost starting guards Mike Mercer and Chris Howard to graduation.

Jones earned All-Big East honors this season after averaging 21.4 points per game, and is expected to be taken anywhere in the late first or early second round.  First round draft picks are guaranteed an NBA contract.

USF has never had a player go in the first round.

-PN

